+44 (0)7596 906775

Reviews

Some of the comments and reviews we've had on this website and via our in-cottage guestbook include:

Summerville family (From: Australia)

We had a lovely stay at Shirley and Alan’s cottage. Amazing views, peaceful and quiet. The home was immaculate and the hosts met us with a warm welcome.

Arrival: 26/03/2024

Departure: 02/04/2024

Jane and Phillip (From: Colchester, Essex)

Back again and as ever a very comfortable stay. Warm and cosy, the log burner a bonus. Such peaceful nights sleep in a comfy bed. We continue to highly recommend this holiday home. Location, facilities, great hosts. We recommend you visit Kielder water and forest. Even on a wet day, lovely to visit. Suggest drive via Longtown and Newcastleton and then back via the old military road. You will not be disappointed with the lovely countryside and views.

Arrival: 27/12/2023

Departure: 30/12/2023

Jane and Michael (From: Oxford)

We had a great stay. the cottage is clean, well-equipped and in a fantastic location. Easy to get to The Roman Wall, Lake District and lots of great walks nearby. Very quiet, lovely to be away from light pollution and see the stars at night. The welcome basket was a lovely treat. Recommendations: Talkin Tarn - an easy walk there and around, great cake. Talkin Fell and Cairns - can walk from here. Lanercost priory - definitely worth a visit. St Martin's Church - beautiful design and windows. Gelt Woods - just down the road. Hallbankgate community shop & café. Look out for film nights at Brampton Community Centre.

Arrival: 05/10/2023

Departure: 22/10/2023

Pam & Joe Singleton (From: Preston)

Lovely cottage, very clean and comfortable. Alan and Shirley very friendly and helpful. We had a relaxing week and got out every day, despite some bad weather. Recommendations: Carlisle by bus - cathedral worth a visit. The Bookcase second hand book shop nearby on Castle Street, just amazing and lovely café "Cakes and Ale". Hexham Abbey also very nice. Roman Army museum very good. Lovely walks around Talkin Tarn. RSBP Gelsdale Visitor centre, lovely walk and quite remote, interesting with nice views.

Arrival: 15/09/2023

Departure: 22/09/2023

Lorraine & Carl (From: Nottingham)

This cottage sets the new standard by which all other cottages will be measured. Super clean, friendly welcome and great treat basket, very quiet with comfortable beds. Shirley and Alan have put so much effort into making this cottage a home from home. The fridge is rather small but we managed. A central location from which to explore all of the below places. Recommendations for future guests: Talkin Tarn, Solway Aviation Museum, RSPB Geltsdale, Kielder Forest, Derwentwater boat trip and walking around Keswick in The Lake district. Gelt Wood for woodland walk and streames. Hadrian's Wall - Sycamore Gap (The Sill). Phew! And Roman Museum highly recommended.

Arrival: 02/09/2023

Departure: 09/09/2023

Rosaly Matysek (From: Brighton)

Shirley and Alan are friendly and kind host/owners. Lovely accommodation, very clean and has a spacious garden. Easy access to The Lakes, River and waterfalls. We had a lovely time and would like to visit again. Thank you

Arrival: 12/08/2023

Departure: 19/08/2023

David Hall (From: Worcester, UK)

Although Brampton is only a small town, it is an ideal base for exploring both the Lakes and Borders area and is a mere 1 hour from Newcastle Upon Tyne if you wish to look for bright lights. The bungalow was well designed and scrupulously clean on arrival, with nice welcome touches. Overall, highly recommended.

Arrival: 29/07/2023

Departure: 05/08/2023

The Stevenson family (From: East Midlands)

We have had a great week in this lovely accommodation. Our stay has been made extremely comfortable by this wonderful, clean cottage. It has been a home away from home. thank you for the welcome basket it was really thoughtful. a great place to stay in a great location - it was a pleasure staying here. We recommend: Gelt Woods; High Cup Nick (in the Pennines); Talkin Tarn; Ullswater and Buttermere in The Lake District.

Arrival: 05/08/2023

Departure: 12/08/2023

Ann & John (From: Astley near Manchester)

Fantastic accommodation. Thank you for the welcome basket a nice surprise. Weather was mixed, we managed to dodge most of the showers. We recommend you visit: The Duke of Cumberland at Castle Carrock. Belted Will, Hallbankgate for excellent steak. Railway at Alston and Vindolanda Roman Wall fort.

Arrival: 08/07/2023

Departure: 15/07/2023

Jenny & Betty-Ann (From: Ontario, Canada)

Perfection! Your service, your location, your home, your welcome basket. It was a perfect place for us to rest up for walking your beautiful pastoral lands. Thank you for everything. Betty Ann. Shirley, your place is so lovely!. Thank you for thoughtfully attending to every detail. We were blessed by your hospitality! Jenny

Arrival: 01/07/2023

Departure: 03/07/2023

Sandra Glen and family (From: Edinburgh)

We have enjoyed our weeks holiday staying in your very comfortable, clean & bright cottage. So easy to settle into, the peace and quiet of this location makes such a change from a noisy busy city. Just perfect. Thanks so much and thanks for the tasty treats in the welcome basket. It was a pleasure staying here. We recommend Cranston's bacon rolls and coffee :-) White rabbit tearoom, hugh portions and great value.

Arrival: 24/06/2023

Departure: 01/07/2023

Sue & Callum Wylie (From: Wiltshire)

The bungalow was so clean and comfy and had everything we needed. Will certainly come back again. Many thanks

Arrival: 17/06/2023

Departure: 24/06/2023

Amy Burton and family (From: Staplehurst)

A beautiful break in a beautiful location. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Arrival: 27/05/2023

Departure: 10/06/2023

Sylvia and Philip (From: Shropshire)

THANK YOU Great week in a lovely bungalow.

Arrival: 13/05/2023

Departure: 20/05/2023

Fewster / Tiernes (From: Ayrshire, Scotland)

Lovely cottage, everything we needed and much more. Great area with plenty to see and places to go. Thank you very much Shirley and Alan. Also towels luxurious. Would recommend Belted Will, Howard Arms Hotel, Duke of Cumberland and Houghton Hall Garden Centre. We had a lovely meal in them all, book the first 3 before going.

Arrival: 05/05/2023

Departure: 08/05/2023

Mr and Mrs Coudray (From: Peterborough)

We had an extremely comfortable stay in this lovely cottage. It is well placed for all the attractions this lovely part of the country has to offer. The weather has been amazing, which has been such a bonus. We enjoyed Gelt Woods and Geltsdale Bird Reserve. Would highly recommend Vindolanda and The Roman Army Museum. Also Pooley Bridge ferry to Glenridding on Ullswater. Lanercost Priory is interesting and the tea room is worth a visit. We walked The Dandy Line and visited Talkin Tarn :-)

Arrival: 15/04/2023

Departure: 22/04/2023

The Rogers Family (From: Shropshire)

We've had a lovely week in your cosy, immaculately clean and comfortable home - thank you. Thank you also for our welcome gifts. Peaceful, and convenient for everything - great combination. We have really enjoyed our stay at Aysgarth (Wall and Lakes Holiday Cottage) - the hosts were on hand if we needed help. 100% recommended. In the area we recommend:- Walking at Gelt Woods. Bird watching at Geltsdale (RSPB) - saw our first Marsh Harrier and Campfield Marsh on the Solway Firth. For pre-Raphaelite lovers, St Martins Church at Brampton is a gem. Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery (Carlisle) - fantastic resources, for all ages.

Arrival: 25/03/2023

Departure: 01/04/2023

Kydd De La Mar (From: Jersey)

"We absolutely loved staying here! such a peaceful and warm place with lovely views of fields at the back of the house. All of the beds were extremely comfy with extra blankets for the colder evenings. The wood burner was amazing and so lovely to sit by in the evenings"

Arrival: 17/01/2023

Departure: 23/01/2023

Partridge: Very comfortable and cosy log burner (From: Essex)

Another very comfortable stay, winter this time so the log burner was put to use and very cosy. Ideal for catching up with family locally. Everything you could want is found in this holiday cottage. Thank you

Arrival: 27/12/2022

Departure: 30/12/2022

Elizabeth and Usma (From: Yorkshire)

We were unsure what to bring with us. However, everything was already available. We have had an amazing stay at your holiday cottage, the beds were very comfortable, and we have had some very good night's sleep. The welcome pack was such a lovely surprise. You have been fantastic hosts. We would highly recommend a stay at this cottage.

Arrival: 28/10/2022

Departure: 30/10/2022

Carol and Megan Peacock (From: South Shields)

Beautiful cottage had everything we could possibly want. Great location and wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely break for me and my daughter.

Arrival: 14/10/2022

Departure: 16/10/2022

Jane and Philip Partridge (From: Colchester, Essex)

One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in, so well-equipped and comfortable. An amazing welcome basket. Ideal location for visiting family in Brampton. Lovely local walks, stunning views from the ridge walk (in Brampton) and good circular walk to Talkin Tarn via The Dandy footpath.

Arrival: 24/09/2022

Departure: 30/09/2022

Bailey Party (From: Buxton)

"Just Lovely"

Arrival: 24/08/2022

Departure: 29/08/2022

Alex and party (From: Derbyshire)

House: Lovely, clean, well equipped Garden: Real sun trap We will come back. Thank you for the welcome basket.

Arrival: 13/07/2022

Departure: 17/07/2022

Griffiths Party (From: Guisborough)

We've had the most wonderful time here. "Aysgarth" is lovely, clean and so well equipped. The welcome basket especially appreciated. "Asygarth" is close to Ullswater, a special place in itself and we found Talkin Tarn a gem, especially a big hit with our grand-daughter :)

Arrival: 07/08/2022

Departure: 14/08/2022

Leave a Review

Fill in the form to leave us a review after your stay at Aysgarth Cottage. All reviews are held for moderation prior to publishing. Whilst we encourage all feedback we reserve the right not to publish any submitted review

Guest Name(s)
Arrival Date
Departure Date
Where did you travel from?
Your comments on your stay at Aysgarth Cottage